Life in Pictures : Writing on Me-Time Mornings


rsz_1mbp_pinkIn just a few weeks, we will now be ushering in the ‘ber’ months, if you are like any Filipina mom I know, we all get giddy and excited around what the ‘ber’ months bring, cooler days, family celebrations, reunions, more holidays to bond with kids. Before we welcome September, let me share with you several scenes from my working-mommy-world.

Work Shoes

20150823_090450_001-1

My roster of work shoes is a reflection of my season in life. It is a mix of footwear that can take me from posh events to roughing it out with kids to errands days. Mommies, look around the shoes you wear and thank God not for the shoes, but what you wear them for.

Faith Matters

20150803_184857

I have learned to appreciate how God has enriched culture, a culture that stretches out and gets reflected on families, how you decorate your house, how you celebrate with friendships. I am also passionate about faith and it is critical to have both culture and faith aligned with what the Bible calls as truth. Thanking God for taking me to places whose culture and faith are different from mine, tugs at your heart to have the passion to know what to pray for. Opens your eyes from what you want to be thankful for and opens your doors to friendships that allow you to share a kind of peace that can be present even in the midst of being different.

Leaving Footprints

20150727_201233-1

20150821_091932-1There was this pocket restaurant near Mekong River in Laos that provides an entire wall for any visitor to leave notes. More than just looking at the wall full of notes, brings me to the walls in my workplace that tells everyone what we want to be famous for. As wives and moms, what notes do we want to leave behind and what do we want to be famous for?

View from the Boardroom

20150821_100815-1

Boardrooms have a way of limiting your views. It is so easy to see yourself as just an integral part of the boardroom, blurring everything else that you need to play as your role. It blurs away your urgent need to go home to complete homeschooling for your kids, or blurs away the weather outside, or blurs away the excessive time you spend in the boardroom. I especially like the boardrooms that gives you the real view outside. It reminds you about the real reasons why you work, the real reasons why you want to excel and reminds you about the beauty of what God surrounds you with as you work, as you play mom, as you play wife.

Kids’ Imprint Everywhere

2015-07-04 20.33.212015-06-28 13.20.33

2015-08-23 08.51.20
Of course, I forever thank God for my boys and mini-me at home. It helps grow me, give me more than enough reasons to be happy, and gives you a reason to get up each morning. Brings you back and clues you in to what makes their world turn. Gives you laughter days, rough it out in play days and even travel days!

Holding Hands While Driving

2015-06-27 09.01.57

I married a man who hears from God, fully trusting his leadership in the family and in our marriage. I am sure that no matter how brilliant my ideas to lead are, the role to be both a mom and dad for my family is something that I have not been wired to play, my big God will always have a way of telling my husband how to lead, without me taking away his role to lead in the family. This is not meant to discount what great things God has been doing for single moms. Thanking God for being the purposeful and Sovereign God who is a personal God of perfect timing, aligned with our seasons and roles in life. So let there just be one driver in the car, but feel free to hold his hand, and squeeze it with love and a wink or smile anytime.

Newsletter-CherryMobileTouch_Dday

NL_Flash-Aug22

Bug-627-MY_P_20150822_WOM1_1st_Ticket

nuffnang

Leave a Reply

