Climbing the Ladder in Stilettos


I have always raved about the book “Climbing the Ladder in Stilettos” authored by Lynette Lewis. Although I have read the book several years ago, all parts of it still ring true to this working mom. Also, the years have somehow given me a different perspective on each page of the book. Pretty much how you would be amazed at getting new personal message from God as you pick up and read the same passages from your Bible.

i4

Lynette has accurately given us a picture of what moms are about, we wear different kinds of shoes for different reasons. We wear flats or even sneakers for errands, change to another pair when we get to work (one that can be worn without the public commute or the MRT crowd), then change back to something more comfy when we travel home, then change into slippers or soft soles to get us ready for the tasks at home.

It was also the book that gave me my first challenge of finding real meaning for work and from work. It has calibrated me to see that it is not always about money or bigger paycheck. It is one that allows you to juggle your other roles while delivering the best performance you can give while serving God through serving your bosses at work.

Lynette has also helped me create my purpose statement for life and work. And if you have not drafted one yet, start by answering the questions below.

1. When people explain why they want me involved or why they referred someone to me, what do they say?

2. Which of my abilities and gifts are most often noted and affirmed by my colleagues?

3. What activities bring me the most joy and satisfaction?

4. What could I be passionate about doing for the next ten years?

5. If I could have any role/position at my current organization or elsewhere, what would I do?

6. Given my life experiences, my education, and my gifts, what unique attributes set me apart from others?

Indeed, this has gotten started what I thank God for Mondays at work. It is essentially thanking God not just for workdays but also for the things that you can positively affect or change at work.

 

Leave a Reply

